Level 2 Diploma in Care (RQF)


The level 2 diploma in health and social care (adults) which replaced the old NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) Level 2 has now been withdrawn and replaced with the level 2 diploma in care (RQF).

This is a nationally-recognised entry-level qualification for individuals working in the care sector.


The qualification is regulated by the UK government department OFQUAL and there are several awarding bodies that can have developed the course content and assessment criteria and are able to offer the qualification.

Examples of awarding bodies are City & Guilds, BIIAB and NOCN. The content and criteria of each of the courses provided by these organisations is remarkably similar as it was developed in collaboration with employers, Skills for Care and Skills for Health.

However, the awarding bodies do not always deliver the courses the learners. Colleges and other training organisations can apply to them to become accredited to provide and assess the course on their behalf.


The qualification is made up of units and each completed unit is worth a certain number of credits. The full qualification requires the learner to have earned at least 46 credits.

Units are split into nine mandatory units and several optional units. Completion of all mandatory units will earn you 24 credits, leaving 22 credits to made up with the optional units.

The choices you have regarding the optional units will vary depending on the awarding body and training provider you are using. Also, some optional units are barred, which means you are not allowed to do two units that are very similar in content. Your training provider will be able to advise you on which units you can choose.

Mandatory Units

There are nine mandatory units that all learners must complete:

Unit nameCredits
Communication in care settings3
Handle information in care settings1
Personal development in care settings3
Implement person-centred approaches in care settings5
Equality and inclusion in care settings2
Health, safety and wellbeing in care settings4
Responsibilities of a care worker2
Duty of care1
Safeguarding and protection in care settings3

Optional Units

Unit nameCredits
Understand the context of supporting individuals with learning disabilities4