Care Certificate


The Care Certificate should be part of all induction programs for anyone new to working in health and social care.

It was funded by the Department of Health and developed jointly by Health Education England, Skills for Health and Skills for Care.


The Care Certificate comprises of 15 standards that set out the minimum knowledge, skills, behaviours and understanding for care workers.

The 15 Standards

The 15 standards are:

Standard 1: Understand your role
Standard 2: Your personal development
Standard 3: Duty of care
Standard 4: Equality and diversity
Standard 5: Work in a person-centred way
Standard 6: Communication
Standard 7: Privacy and dignity
Standard 8: Fluids and nutrition
Standard 9: Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
Standard 10: Safeguarding adults
Standard 11: Safeguarding children
Standard 12: Basic life support
Standard 13: Health and safety
Standard 14: Handling information
Standard 15: Infection prevention and control